Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Cinnamon Smoked Lamb


I am still not sure whether this will become a blog about Food, or about Photography or maybe just a marriage of the two! Anyhow this is one of the dishes I created at work, I took home the ingredients and assembled it so I have a chance to shoot it properly.
I used bare flashes to create strong shadows and bring out earthy tones, which worked partly, had I just added a small mirror to the right to illuminate the 2 stacked slices of Lamb a bit.
So 1 strobe Top Left behidn subject, and 1 strobe right laying on the table pointed up towards the smoke.

I really need to get a course on photoshop now!
So I moved my arse today and cooked Some Cinnamon Smoked Lamb which is blowtorched after marinating, then quickly cooled, cold smoked en subsequently vacuum packed with an array of herbs, seasonings and spices. it is then slow cooked in a water bath at 65 degrees celsius for 2 hours, to create a fully cooked, beautiful pink supertender piece of lamb. it is presented here with Baby Beets and Turnip, Grilled Cepe Mushroom, Red Silver Onion and Cherries. yes indeed the large tree barks is indeed Cinnamon.

Strobist info, 1 flash right, flagged and fired up into smoke, 1 flash on stand left behind subject, both fired at 1/8 power i think if i am not wrong.

Cinnamon Smoked Lamb

Cinnamon Smoked Lamb

 

Cinnamon Smoked Lamb

Cinnamon Smoked Lamb

2 responses

  1. What a gorgeous dish! I love the cinnamon smoke idea!

    March 27, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    • cosmopolitanblog

      Thanks I am glad you like it!

      March 28, 2009 at 2:49 am

Leave a Reply

