Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Good equipment is half the job!


Its really true, good stuff makes half your work. So since yesterday I am the happy owner of two very small portable softboxes, bought from Ying Kee in Sham Shui Po at HK$ 250 each. Each comes with a bountifull ball head connector, a sliding mechanism to match up with the strobes and triggers….for portable and home style studio pretty good stuff I find, however I seem to have problems with white balance, so need to do some tests. The inner lining of the boxes is silver, and the cover is seemingly plain white, however if I dont manually adjust it seems everything comes out golden cast.

anyway here are the softboxes in actin:

Softboxes for Home Studios

Softboxes for Home Studios

Here a close up shot of the Soft box with the flash and triggers and ball head connected to a light stand:

Softbox close up

Softbox close up

As you can see my flashwaves triggers get in the way, but as canon flashes dont come with pc sync or any other connections…..this way will have to do for now….next time i wil try and find a hot shoe which can link the two via cable, so my flash can be positioned better.

The whole connection thing apart from my troubles is pretty much well done and the softbox sits pretty tight on the connector ring. The Ball Head also performs pretty well considering the weight resting on it, it did not slip at all. Only one minus I would say is that everything is connected by big butterfly screws which quite often can get in the way of each other.

Time for setting up and breaking down 2 of these units, the camera, etc etc, is quite considerable……I was left with only 15 minutes to shoot today, time was not on my side. but count on 20 minutes at least to set up and same for breaking down and putting everything away.

I am really eager to do another drink or food shot with these, but will need to wait till I really have some free time for that, I can only imagine how my lamb shot, or bloody mary shot would look like with these softboxes.

I forgot to mention the softboxes with ball heads and slider connection systems cost only HK$ 250 so its worthwhile to try and experiment with these without breaking the bank.

 

 

Ok so here some test shots with this setup:

My clock

My clock

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some Corn

Some Corn

Royal Albert Tea Cups

Royal Albert Tea Cups

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and finally my wee boys favorites

and finally my wee boys favorites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh I forgot to mention I also got myself a spanking new tripod with ball head, finally one which i can put horizontal, or for that matter in just about any direction i ever wish to…..and well Alex will be happy to as he got my old one so at least hess got a bit of equipment to experiment about with:

Ballhead Tripod

Ballhead Tripod

5 responses

  1. Congratulations on your new purchase!! Looks like it’s gonna be a lot of fun to play around with and the first results look very good. In terms of the white balance; not sure if you shoot in raw, but if you do make sure you shoot a greycard, so you can always adjust the white balance later…
    Can’t wait to see some food shots with your new gear!
    Simone

    February 24, 2009 at 4:01 pm

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    Hey Simone, thanks for the heads up and yes i always shoot raw, but prefer it to be more correct from the beginning. my first few shots with thi set up using awb were really really yellow! anyway food shots coming up soon!

    February 24, 2009 at 4:08 pm

  3. Looks like some nice gear. The shot of the watch is exceptional. I’m setting up something very similar myself at the moment. I look forward to seeing more close up work! Cheers Kevin

    February 25, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    • cosmopolitanblog

      Thanks Kevin, its a blast to do this, espe ially with Hk costs of this, its really not to dear! you have a blog as well? let me know!
      Marco

      February 25, 2009 at 2:18 pm

  4. Hi Marco – the price for anything in the UK is shocking at the moment!. My blog is: http://blog.kevinmullinsphotography.co.uk

    Take care Kevin

    February 25, 2009 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

