Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Testing my new Softboxes with Caviar and Balik Salmon, what Luxury!


 

Balik Salmon and Chinese Caviar

Balik Salmon and Chinese Caviar

 

 

Balik style home smoked salmon with Chinese Hybrid Kaluga-Schrenki Caviar (free of charge) which is of superb quality, much better then the farmed Italian or French Caviar nowadays. On the side you can see some condiments for the Caviar and some Bruschetta’s with different toppings. so yes dinner was a blast! Strobist: 1 softbox above and behind with 430EX 1 softbox slightly above left with 430EXII Would like to mention if you ever get to taste Caviar, try it the traditional way, on the soft part of a fist, lick it off and take about 1/2 a shot of Vodka, then let it all mingle in the mout for a few seconds before swallowing….oomph what an explosion of tastes.

I have to say my two small size softboxes give me pretty nice results, way better then using umbrellas for this kind of small table top things. Umbrellas spread light around the whole room so you dont get too much directionality…..this is solved now with these soft boxes. have to admit it was my first shoot with them and just did the “bath in light thingy” have to see how it works when i want to do black background darker type of shots, but I bet you for that I will need another flash and snoot at least to

add high lights. Also overdue are some mirrors, but hey you cant have everything and to be honest living in a Hong Kong shoebox, everything needs to be set up and cleaned away right afterwards again……this means that every shoot takes at least 2 hours, and its full of labor…..then again its a lot better then having a husband “couch Potato” I suppose, right Honey?

 

Salmon and Caviar

Salmon and Caviar

 

The Babies

The Babies

 

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

The best way to eat Caviar

The best way to eat Caviar

9 responses

  1. Wow Marco, that is very impressive what you did with that lovely salmon and your new toys! It looks fantastic and very tasty! Maybe we can swap the andijvie stamppot for your salmon… 🙂
    Simone

    February 27, 2009 at 8:50 am

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    Hi Simone, Thanks a lot! but erh feel free to critique yeah, its the only way I can learn!

    but but….sawp? I am so greedy I already finished my salmon and Caviar!

    February 27, 2009 at 9:19 am

  3. Well, I can critique but there is not a lot of ‘critique’ Haha… If I would have to be picky; I would have given the bruschetta slightly more room at the bottom, so the toast would not be cropped as it is right now. I love the shine on the caviar, very well done with the lighting! Are you liking the new toys?

    February 27, 2009 at 9:30 am

  4. cosmopolitanblog

    well see the pictures obvisouly i like it a lot, however apart from white balance which isnt that hard to correct, I am now struggling with the glare i get on products……one thing i dont like for example is if you look at the top of the salmon is it almost becomes …..erh……well perhaps it is almost getting blown out…..ok so maybe i should adjust my power of the light oin top a bit down….hmmm….did i ask a question and answer it meself? oh god.

    Final verdict if i love the softboxes will come after i do a reshoot of the lamb dish I did before, with black base and b/g and soft light just about touching the dish……in a mystical way……..now if i can pull that off as well now then im pretty happy yes…..so stay tuned!

    February 27, 2009 at 9:37 am

  5. That’s not blown out! Not on my screen anyway. I actually love the shine on the salmon as that gives it that fresh and appetizing look. Try and shoot it without shine and you will see the difference!
    Maybe on the closeup shots of the three steaks it could have been slightly less, but well… I don’t find it too much…

    February 27, 2009 at 9:42 am

  6. smog

    The photography looks fine to me, but more importantly where do I get Balik salmon and that caviar in HK, and roughly what would it cost me? And for that matter where can I get sour cream that is actually sour, like smetana?

    February 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    • cosmopolitanblog

      There are many places where you can buy balik but expect to pay in the 800’s of dollars a kilo, which is why i make it myself. the chinese caviar, and i was always aginst this as quality control etc was not at al trustable……but this time i am amazed by the quality. I can pass you the contacts tomorrow for where to get it.

      cheers

      Marco

      February 27, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    • cosmopolitanblog

      Smog, call Sabina and mention me name pls.
      Planet Caviar Limited
      Tel 24822514 or mobile 93826418

      February 28, 2009 at 5:05 am

  7. cosmopolitanblog

    Smog, sorry didnt read the whole comment you made…..still trying to get to know wordpress,,,,,it cost wholesale about 380 per 30 grams, not bad for the quality. i sell it at 698 with condiments, ice carving and the whole chibang!
    sour cream, best is to just make your own in HK

    February 27, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

