Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Prawns


So I set off today continuing my blue background thingy, not that I only have a blue gel, but just it matched the prawns better then the orange or green I have. Anyhow the goal was get a nice picture of my prawn with an icy cold background, to emphasize on how fresh it was 🙂

Raw Prawn

Raw Prawn

I pointed 1 blue gelled strobe at the wall, and presented my subjects raised on a small table, hiding the flash behind it. I then added a small softbox left, and above, trying to shine light both from the back as well as some fill from the front, I then added a silver or gold reflector on the right to provide more fill.

 

I am sorry because as usual I was to pre-occupied to think of taking a set up shot, but the above should explain enough.

I shot most of these with my 100 mm F2.8 Canon lens, no CPL hense some flare can be seen.
And I used 2 Canon 430 EXii flashes, the one on the background I think was set at 1/4 power and the one from the left and above at 1/2, the gel used was normal gel from a stationary shop, no color balanced stuff or so. The camera used was a Canon 50D. Settings were roughly F13, 1/160th shutter at Iso 200.

I am quite pleased with the look of them, but please give me some comments and feedback as to what you dont like about these images.

Thanks!

 

Another Raw One

Another Raw One

Hey at least this one we can eat!

Hey at least this one we can eat!

 

And these dipped in Soy Sauce with some Chili are just delish!

And these dipped in Soy Sauce with some Chili are just delish!

OK this one is definitely not a Prawn, but he is the Star of every day to me!

OK this one is definitely not a Prawn, but he is the Star of every day to me!

6 responses

  1. Quite a new look on your blog!! I like it, although maybe it still needs a little bit of tweaking…
    On the prawns and the blue background; I don’t think it works particularly well on the raw ones as they seem blue themselves since they are a bit translucent. I think the blue is almost too blue a lighter blue would have worked better I think. (if you work in lightroom or photoshop you can adjust the blue color afterwards)
    The rings you are talking about on Flickr are newton rings and have something to do with the digital sensor. I’m not quite sure myself but I think that is the halo you’re referring too. If you search on newton rings, I’m sure you can find some advice on how to prevent them!

    March 29, 2009 at 8:54 am

  2. Sorry, I forget to mention that I do like the blue on the cooked prawns. Great closeups!!

    March 29, 2009 at 8:58 am

  3. cosmopolitanblog

    Hi Simone, and thanks, it needs a lot of tweaking, I want to get rid of the about me on the top right, its just making it look as if I am a media whor….you know what i mean…hehe

    I agree with the blue on the raw prawn, will see if i can change it, and thanks for letting me know about the Newton Rings, I guess my filter has to come off then.

    March 29, 2009 at 9:08 am

  4. I’ve noticed it particularly heavy on blue too (the newton thing) so maybe see what happens with another color.

    March 29, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  5. Paul

    Hi Marco,
    The blue halo looks to me like you’re simply blowing highlights and very much looks like the green channel. The prawns, hair and also there’s a large greenish/cyan glow beneath the prawn that’s posterising. I doubt you’d see newton rings on a digital camera unless the filter covering the sensor was touching the sensor, then you’d see it in the same place on similar shots. You’re right there’s a lot of flare too. Are you using a filter on your lens? UV/NC filter for protection perhaps? Also if the angle of the flash was to cut across the lens at an angle, you’ll get this flare. Use a lens hood or increase contrast in PS using curves (or both).

    With the raw prawn you could try reducing power on the backlight (you’re seeing a blue rim lighting effect coming through the prawn) and/or hitting the prawn with more front light.

    Basically that back light is too strong. Likewise to reduce the rim lighting on your son there, hit the top of the head with a hair light and/or reduce the backlight.

    I think what’s throwing you is the foreground is exposed normally!

    – Paul

    March 31, 2009 at 7:06 am

    • Paul

      And … also looks like the blue light is reflecting off of something bright/reflective above and slightly behind the cameramans right shoulder.

      March 31, 2009 at 7:09 am

Leave a Reply

