Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Food Photography and deception


I just had to share this, any readers I have right now, you must know I am into food photography, however I am also an avid critic on Images that dont show the true picture.

I mean I know marketing is important, but its also important to show the truth or you will end up with something like this:

http://www.funtasticus.com/20080324/advertising-vs-reality-a-product-comparison-project/

This cannot be what we food photographers want on our name do we?

Something to think about, after you shot, who is going to edit, what are they going to do with the image, do you want your picture to be used to promote something that is not whats in the package?

hmmmm……

7 responses

  1. Completely agree. That’s why I love available light food photography. Food can have so many textures and tones. Why kill it with stark studio lighting?

    March 29, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    I dont think you fully understand what I am trying to say Iheartfilm, although I appreciate your comment and I like it invokes discussion. I dont think studio lights in anyway would kill a picture. I for one have no choice but to shoot at night, and I think (ahem) some of my pictures, and i admit only some are quite nice.
    I think my comment was more about depicting the product to be different then what it is……i.e. a creamy filling which show up as 45% of the product seems to be in reality only 10%, or a golden brown cake seems to be a white undercooked looking sticky bastard….chicken a la king looking more like a soup then rice with chicken in a cream sauce.

    anyway it made me think twice about handing over images and what will grow out of them in an editors hands, going onto a package.

    Cheers

    Marco

    March 29, 2009 at 5:37 pm

  3. Really important issue, thanks, s

    March 29, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  4. Jenny

    Hey, just thought I’d leave a comment to say how much I’m enjoying reading your blog! I accidentally stumbled here from Ordinary Gweilo- and what a pleasant surprise 🙂 Your photography is great, and those recipes sound amazing especially that oxtail stew recipe.

    I look really forward to reading again!

    March 30, 2009 at 4:11 pm

  5. cosmopolitanblog

    Thanks a lot Jenny, hope you like to be abck for more soon!

    March 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm

  6. Man.. some of those foods look really gross IRL
    especially the cream soups (can anyone say puke)

    Was fascinating to look at though!
    i guess you can never believe what’s on the packaging = =

    March 31, 2009 at 3:49 am

  7. JP

    Food photography is a challenge but yes I agree with Marco on the frauds about “what’s-really-in-the-tin.
    The link in the original blogpost, regarding the German site exposes a scam, no more, no less. Some companies have no scrupules at all. In fact they are not into quality products at all. They will do whatever to satisfy their shareholders and create extra boni for top Mgt. But good food? nah.
    On the other hand I’m all for very nice and flattering pics about the real content by using the correct light and best styling or presentation. No problem with using daylight or artificial light. Just as long as you do photograph the real thing.

    April 14, 2009 at 10:13 am

Leave a Reply

