Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

HKPC Strobist Group Food Photography Meeting


Tonight we had an event organized by my Flickr Buddy Malcolm, to go and shoot some food in a restaurant called La Mer Brasserie in LKF Tower, LKF Hong Kong.

La Mer Brasserie

La Mer Brasserie

 

The idea was to give more people an insight in how to handle food, lighting and styling in a restaurant setting.

Almost all who came along had some sort of lighting equipment with them so as you can see from the overall image it was a real flashing event! Full of Softboxes, Umbrellas and Flashes.

We were 9 people and ordered a number of dishes, to come out slowly from the kitchen, well prepared by Chef Jimmy, and took turns in shooting the dishes.

I in particular like my Canon 100 MM F2.8 lens and wanted to see if I push the aperture to F16 and F 18 if I would get more pleasing results and more DOF, as I was just rejected by a stock agent, mainly it seems due to not enough DOF in some of my Images. In some way it worked but I was really not used to shoot in such a dim and colorful area, which posed problems with focusing and white balance.

Anyway I think it was a great learning experience for most, there were even few people there who didnt even have a flash, so imagine what a learning curve they took!

I am personally still stuck with quite close up shots of food as I havent found my way yet with food styling, I am always creating uncompelling images by wrongly placing things like cutlery, napkins and combining colors.

Anyway thats perhaps a new workshop we can organize, one for food styling!

Thanks to Malcolm for organizing this!

 

Coffee Machine, yes I have something for proper Coffee Machines, they turn me on!

Coffee Machine, yes I have something for proper Coffee Machines, they turn me on!

Coffin Bays on Ice

Coffin Bays on Ice

 

 

Caramelized Scallops, does it get any better?
Caramelized Scallops, does it get any better?
Seabass and Clams

Seabass and Clams

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bouillabaisse

Bouillabaisse

 

Bunch of Ghosts playing with their toys and food!

Bunch of Ghosts playing with their toys and food!

2 responses

  1. Sounds like you had a fun experience over there in the restaurant! I too totally love my 100mm 2.8 and use it almost exclusively for all foodshots….

    April 2, 2009 at 10:29 pm

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    Yeah its a nice lens, and for the quality actually quite affordable!

    April 3, 2009 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

