Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Food Styling and lighting


Both areas I feel I still have a lot of problems with, but hopefully once in the bigger flat, I finally have space to keep napkins, table clothes, chinaware, silverware, chopping boards, etc etc to make myself a bit easier in that regard. Also soft boxes and light stands wont need to be broken down all the time, which will save crucial time and add to my time being busy with composition and styling!

Now here today are a few shots of Dinner, Pasta with Tomato Sauce, Sun Dried Tomatoes, Artichokes and Parmesan Cheese, and some hot Cocoa made for the kids.

I used a white acrylic background, placed in front of my living room window, it was very grey weather today so I added a flash with a umbrella on camera right, and a few reflectors……I have to appologize as yet again I forgot the obligatory set up shot, but oh well…..I bet you can all imagine it by now!

 

Dinner Tonight

Dinner Tonight

The Tower of Pasta

The Tower of Pasta

 

A different angle

A different angle

And the hot Cocoa with Marshmallows for the kids today!

And the hot Cocoa with Marshmallows for the kids today!

2 responses

  1. Looks like you had a lot of fun shooting the ingredients for dinner…:) I like the tower of pasta the most out of the bunch of photos for the simple reason that the simplicity attracts here. I love the light on the pasta and it shows the texture really well. The other shots are nice but maybe a bit too crowded for my taste.. But then I always also struggle with foodstyling! It’s so hard!!

    April 7, 2009 at 8:38 am

  2. Like the shots, I am also teaching myself and recommend Digital food photography by lou manna, which came in handy for styling and photography tips.

    April 9, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

