Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

Hollywood style lighting


DPC Challenge website has a challenge on doing a portrait of a fellow DPC member, but as time nor models are on my side this time, I cant join in as selfies are not allowed. Anyhow I saw a shot done by fellow photographer Ekmai a while ago and wanted to try my hand at that, the old fashioned hollywood lighting styles.

No model and time not allowing for better preparations I thought I just do a self test just to practise until I have time and a model to pull this off hopefully way better.

Doing a selfie is really hard as your model never sits still, so the position of all the snooted and gridded lights becomes an issue, leave alone focusing, as one will never sit back on exact the same position.

Selfie with Hollywood style lighting

Selfie with Hollywood style lighting

Anyway, I used for this 4 strobes, the 1st one to create the splash on the background, just gelled it and placed it close to the wall to get this shape. The 1st most important light, or key Light is a gridded strobe high above my left shoulder shining down on me, the 2nd is a fill, which comes from my right side and is snooted to highlight the right side of my face, as you can see it wasnt a tight enough snoot as it spilled too much. Next I had to fill in my face, I tried a reflector but as everything was so tightly snooted and gridded there was almost nothing to reflect, so i added another snooted strobe in front of me on a low chair, so it would shine into my face and I like in particular that this prevents also from getting any shadow from the hat.

I would like to see more shadow on my face, make it a bit more dramatic, but my strobes don’t allow me to go lower power….then again its probably got more to do with the placement of the strobes then the power here.

I would like to try this kind of thing again with a few more people and a green clothed table with cards, poker chips, whiskey, cigars etc on the table.

Until next time.

Another Selfie, different composition

Another Selfie, different composition

4 responses

  1. Not bad Marco not bad at all for a first time!!

    May 8, 2010 at 6:03 am

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    Thanks Simone, just cant get the shadows more pronounced….think i need tighter grids and snoots

    May 8, 2010 at 6:56 am

  3. charley hardman

    wow. thought that b/w was right in the pocket. really stood out during an unrelated google image search. few weeks ago i checked into hollywood style lighting, and few of the modern examples (not self portraits) were anywhere close to what you did.

    October 25, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  4. cosmopolitanblog

    Thanks Charley!

    October 31, 2010 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

