Food, Photography and Lifestyle Blog

27/365 diffraction


27/365 diffraction
Shot with 100 MM macro, handheld in less the ideal conditions, image rotated fir ease of viewing as normally off course the image in the lens is shown upside down. Subject my wee model who was in a mood 🙂 hehe

according to wikipedia: Diffraction refers to various phenomena which occur when a wave encounters an obsta…cle. Italian scientist Francesco Maria Grimaldi coined the word "diffraction" and was the first to record accurate observations of the phenomenon in 1665.[2][3] In classical physics, the diffraction phenomenon is described as the apparent bending of waves around small obstacles and the spreading out of waves past small openings. Similar effects occur when light waves travel through a medium with a varying refractive index or a sound wave through one with varying acoustic impedance. Diffraction occurs with all waves, including sound waves, water waves, and electromagnetic waves such as visible light, x-rays and radio waves. As physical objects have wave-like properties (at the atomic level), diffraction also occurs with matter and can be studied according to the principles of quantum mechanics.

2 responses

  1. You’re doing so well with all these great trials… Where do you find the time?? I got to confess that I didn’t even take one photo today. I have been stuck behind the computer doing administration and other boring stuff. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day. In the meantime I love this image. Well done!

    February 8, 2011 at 5:50 pm

  2. cosmopolitanblog

    where do I find the time? I ask myself that question daily……….thought about giving up 3 time salready. anyway i dont sit on the sofa , nor watch tele so I guess there comes some fo my time.

    have no idea yet what i will do today 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 4:15 am

Leave a comment